Biomedicine Seminar

Lecturer Stine Yde Nielsen: "Infection in pregnancy and early life"

Oplysninger om arrangementet


Onsdag 7. september 2022,  kl. 12:00 - 13:00


Samfundsmed. aud. build. 1262-101




Untreated infection in pregnancy may cause adverse pregnancy outcome by several mechanisms, including direct fetal infection, placental damage and severe maternal illness. Protection against early neonatal infection depends on the degree of transplacental passage of the infectious agent and transfer of maternal antibodies to the fetus. Neonatal sepsis is one of the most common insults with approximately 3 million cases each year but only 5-15% of neonates with suspected sepsis have positive blood-cultures and long-term outcomes not fully investigated. Also, there is an increasing focus on antibiotic stewardship due to the risk of antimicrobial resistance and association with long term health effects in children.

Our team are doing seroepidemiological studies on several pathogens including evaluation of transplacental antibody transfer. We are investigating the incidence of sepsis and meningitis in children below one year including a validation of the diagnosis  for bacterial sepsis of newborns and the long-term outcome for children infected in early life. With a specific focus on Streptococcus agalactiae (GBS), we are measuring specific antibodies against GBS in neonates with invasive infection and performing a clinical study elucidating whether the concentration of GBS-antibodies measured in umbilical cord blood reflects the concentration in neonatal peripheral blood.

We are also measuring the concentrations of different antibiotics in newborns of mothers who have received antibiotics during delivery and comparing bacterial flora in newborns and their mothers based on different risk factors.

And at Zoom, for those of you who cannot attend in person:

The talk is 45 minutes followed by 15 minutes of discussion, for a total of 1 hr.

 It is possible to sign-up for a free sandwich before Monday 5 September

The Biomedicine organising committee

Mikkel Vendelbo
Line Reinert
Søren Egedal Degn 
Martin Kristian Thomsen